how to feed sun coral???

osakamy

anybody out there know how to feed sun coral? they said that you have to put a piece of shrimp at their mouth but they don't open at all and when they do open, you move the food near their mouth they will close.please help??

ak_reefer

Sun corals can be fed by blowing brine shrimp across the cups. They need to be fed when there tentacles are extended. You cant just feed one of the cups they all need to be fed. Hope this helps. :)

nm reef

I've got no hands on experience keeping sun corals...but as soon as I locate a suitable speciman I plan to add one....everything I've learned about them indicates that they require direct feedings when the polyps are open and extended...my plan is to feed them brine/mysis soaked in zoe(with dt's phytoplankton).....I'll use my trusty turkey baster to blow this across the polyps ...seems they need to have each individual polyp fed in this manner to keep 'em happy and healthy.....anyone else?????

q

I can't think of any reason why you would want to stirr up the substrate. Only thing I can add is if the tenticals are not out then you can blow some of the brine shrimp juices across the colony to induce a feeding response.

a friend of mine had one and its polyps would always extend when he stired up the substrate. not alot of stiring required ,just wisk around the surface so that any excess detrius becomes airborne. just an idea :D

marek