I am a novice who needs help with high nitrates

holley

I have a 3 month old live sand bottom 75 gal tank, with about 75lbs of live rock. I have been changing 5 gal of water a week since I purchased this tank. I had three anemonies, 3 tangs, two damsels, 20 crabs, 20 snails, 1 starfish, and jaw fish. Now I have 3 anemonies, 2 tangs, 1 damsel, 10 crabs, 1 starfish, and 20 snails.
The filter system is a Fluval 404, with four chambers, two are filled with carbon, and two are filled with a hard donut shaped devices.
The water used to be prefect, but now my nitrates are so high that my fish are dying. This all started about two weeks ago. Since that time I have been changing at least 15 gal of water per week to try and bring the nitrates down. Just this week I start using distilled water after testing my tap water for high nitrates.
I was reading other posting and people were refeering to "cc" and "ro-di", what do the letters stand for, and should I purchase these items?
Do you have any advice for me to lower the nitrates, or am I doing the right thing? If I am doing the right thing then how long should it take to reduce the nitrate levels? I want the best set up that money can buy so please share your knowledge with me and point me in the right dirtections.

beth

Administrator
Staff member
First off get rid of the Fluval as a filtration system! Unless you change the media in canister filters at least weekly, these filters will become nitrate factories, which you can see for yourself with your current problem.
How deep is your sand bed? If you have at least 4", then you could just setup as a DSB [deep sand bed] using your sand and LR as a natural fitration. Add a good skimmer, powerheads and you should see a notable difference with this problem.
cc means crushed coral
ro means water that is filtered by reverse osmoses
ri means distiled water

beth

Administrator
Staff member