I am new at saltwater fish. Need some help

It been a week that my tank has been setup. Salt level is at 1.021. I used CaribSea live Sand. My tank size is 12 gallon. 4lbs of live rock in there. Yesterday i bought a started fish danzel or something. I am not familiar with the name so sorry. I forgot to buy food when i was at the store. I introduced the fish to the tank following what i was told which i am not sure if i did it correctly or not. This morning it didn't really move it was stuck to the filter. Yesterday it was swimming fine but no this morning. I thought it would be starving so i went to the petstore to get some food and come back and attempted to feed it but it didn't eat. Few hours late it lying as it was dead. Which only case i can conclude it has pass away. I know is my fault. I just started this hobby. I take care of regular tropical fish but i know the experiences from that is completely different with the tank. I just need some advice what could have caused it to die? Could it be from ich or starvation? I need help! Thanks.

meowzer

Welcome to swf.com
have you done any reading on cycling yoru tank?? I think you should go to the new hobby section and read all about it
I highly doubt your fish died of starvation....mor then likely ammonia shock....have you done any water testing? What are your testreadings?
1 week is way toofor a fish to be in a new tank

Yes i had have done some water testing. P.H is at 8.2 and water is safe. ;o I been cycling for a while but i am not sure to what extend does it need to be cycle at. ok. What is the recommended time i should give the tank to build up? I know that if you just introduced live rocks it shoot the level high. So i have to wait till settle down again?

meowzer

What do you mean water is safe? What are your actual readings? ammonia, nitrite, nitrate????
There is NO exact timeline on when a tank is ready.....your water testing will show you though,

btldreef

Quote: