I Wanna build a 55 gallon reef tank, but where do i start?

dexfire

For years, ive been wanting to build a salt water reef tank, but i dont know what i need, and i dont know what to do. Im new at this, so i dont know any of the terminology that goes along with maintaning a reef tank. I do know that i want a 55 gallon tank, to go along with the library im builing. Any suggestions?

iechy

If you're building a library then the starting point I'm going to suggest fits in nicely. Before you buy anything else buy some good books. Two good ones are - Corals:Selection and Husbandry and Natural Reef Aquariums. Read them and whatever other ones you like before you do anything and then you can know where you want to go with your tank and go from there. I wish I had done it that way at first. It will save you plenty of time, money, headaches, and losses. HTH. GL.

slick

Like these guys said read a lot before you start to buy stuff. You will be putting a lot of money into your tank.

jmgrn

Two good books to start with are- " The New Marine Aquarium", by Michael S. Paletta, and "The Conscientious Marine Aquarist", by Robert M. Fenner. Also do yourself a giant favor, when you decide on the brand of tank you're going to purchase [Oceanic, All-Glass, etc] buy a "reef ready" tank, one that has drain and return plumbing included, you'll save yourself a million headaches. Probably have to spend a few more bucks to buy that type of tank, get used to buying quality equipment, its not cheap. If you're interested in a cheap hobby, try collecting string. Theres alot of valuable info and advice at this bb, good luck.

dexfire