ich dilema

flamehawk

I've been fighting ich in my 125g w/ L/r and L/S for several months. The latest (Today) is that my Royal G got ich after being in the tank for just 3 1/2 days. This is after the tank was once again fishless for 6 weeks! Good thing I didn't test the tank w/ my scribble and Goldflake angels. They are safe in seperate tanks.
How can an ich strain be so resistant? What should I do next? I'm at my witts end and am close to given this all up......again!! Help.....

bang guy

Where was the Royal G before you placed it in the tank? If it was fishless for 6 weeks then the Ick came from the fish, not from the tank.

bang guy

Originally Posted by flamehawk
The RG was Q'd for 6 weeks with no outbreak. Never hypo'd because showed no signs of ich.
If you hypo the fish then the Ick will be gone. You just moved the Ick from the QT back to the tank.

flamehawk

perhaps I didn't explain properly. The RG was a new purchase. As a new purchase he was Q'd for 6 weeks with no signs of illness. After Q, he was acclimated properly and put into display which was fishless for 6 weeks. I'm perplexed.thx.

S

shark bait

One idea is to get a vortex xl filter and run it 3-4 hours a day while the tank has no fish. Change the filter and add the fish and keep using it until you don't have ich. Ever thought it might just be stress and not ick. You might want to check the fish line up. Just a though that some major retail shops use for hard fish that they dont hypo or copper to death.

bang guy

Originally Posted by flamehawk
perhaps I didn't explain properly. The RG was a new purchase. As a new purchase he was Q'd for 6 weeks with no signs of illness. After Q, he was acclimated properly and put into display which was fishless for 6 weeks. I'm perplexed.thx.