ich how to get rid of it for good?

colbalt60

hello all. this is my first time posting and i have read plenty form all of the previous posts, however i have also been working with my lfs with his recommendations. i have a 90 gallon fowlr just lost my raccoon butterfly, have a blue hippo, yellow tang, royal gramma, cinnamon clown, blue spotted gobie, 2 peppermint shrimp, 2 cleaner shrimp, and a chocolate chip star. lr 127 lbs. i have tryed malachite green several times and have now been advised to go with kent rx p with poly ox. my water conditions are near perfect with the only issue being phosfates slightly readable. any and all suggestions would be welcome. thanks to all of you and great site.

lion_crazz

I would remove all the fish to a separate quarantine tank and perform hyposalinity, while leaving the display tank fishless for 6 weeks.
Everything about the hyposalinity procedure are detailed above in Beth's FAQ.

lion_crazz

Like I stated in the other thread, the best way to get rid of ich is hyposalinity with a refractometer in a tank with no rock or inverts or coral and then proceeding to leave the display tank fishless for 6 weeks so that all the parasites die due to not having a host.

sepulatian

Originally Posted by lion_crazz
Like I stated in the other thread, the best way to get rid of ich is hyposalinity with a refractometer in a tank with no rock or inverts or coral and then proceeding to leave the display tank fishless for 6 weeks so that all the parasites die due to not having a host.
Yes, this is the only way to rid your tank of ich.

lion_crazz

Originally Posted by sepulatian
Yes, this is the only way to rid your tank of ich.
Unless of course you dose your tank with copper, but this is definitely something you do not want to do.
Hyposalinity is your best bet at keeping your fish healthy and alive and of definitely getting rid of ich.

sepulatian

Originally Posted by lion_crazz