If you had to choose (vacation spot...)

ophiura

Just looking for input on vacation options...if you have experience with these locations, especially if you can compare, please chime in!!!
My likes: I am a biologist, particularly marine, like the outdoors, simple stuff, crafts, photography, hikes, beaches...don't like crowds, high prices, tourist traps, not so much cheap as frugal.
Hubby is a geologist (Canadian), loves mountains, had fun snorkeling last time, hiking, camping, simple stuff, photography...better with people than I am, but still not into flashy stuff.
For example we went to Vegas recently for a conference and were like "uh...!?!?!?" but would have loved to go out to the mountains around the city.

girlina4x4

I picked Costa Rica for you! Ive never been there but my ex-bf had an uncle who owned a resort there and the pics were beautiful! I also have quite a few sufer friends who go there and Nicaragua. There are mountains (for the hubby), and lots of H2O for you! Sure Hawaii and the Bahamas are islands too, but I bet many of your friends/family havent been there. Its unique! And Alaska is just too cold (but hey, you can see Russia)
I went to the Bahamas a few years ago. We went to the Atlantis aquarium which was amazing, and resort was cool as well. We went to Nassau for a day too, that really gave the vibe of what its really like.

ophiura

We had a Costa Rican vacation planned with a timeshare company but it was canceled like 3 days before!!!!
I am a fan of the Bahamas, though I would stay on the smaller islands and not near Nassau or Grand Bahama personally. My general preference is always the Bahamas because i feel like I know it...and the completely unfamiliar is not a strong point of mine.
Costa Rica would be Pacific side...I'm not sure if the snorkeling in particular is great on the Pacific side. But the jungles and such would be very cool.
Alaska is beautiful, the glaciers and such would be appealing...

al mc