Im a newbie..and need help...REAL bad

txstatecat

HeLp!! :help: me and my boyfriend just purchased a 45 Gal odyssea tank; and we currently have 3 damsels in it; and we are taking our water to our lfs next week to make sure the 'cycle' is completed..and i really want to buy a clown fish and blue tang (nemo and dory!); but i was wondering if its okay to get the two at the same time; and should i get rid of the damsels? also...i came home tonight and my tank was super cloudy for some reason; maybe the fish stirred up some of the sand while they were chasing each other around; and my water level has gone down like 3 cm since i filled it about a week and a half ago...is that normal? any help would be GREATLY appreciated...thanks!

iiinadav

Before you go any further, how long have the damsels been in the tank? There a possiblity that your tank has cycled and is ready for another fish. I guess you can send the damsels back to the store if you really don't want them, but it would be better if you kept them. Adding a Clownfish to your tank is fine. Adding the Blue Tang is a big, I mean BIG mistake. I'm not trying to burst your bubble, but 45 gallons is way to small for a Blue Tang. A Blue Tang will only stress itself in that tank and probably develop ick before you know it. I started my first tank out with 3 damsels, then added a true perc clownfish. After you added the clown you can explorer other fish options.

mikeyjer

Originally Posted by txstatecat