I'm back! And getting a big tank!

cartman101

Hello everyone! Some of you remember me as that kid that thought he could do anything with aquariums and i did start up some arguments...and i'm sorry. I have been hanging out at grimreefers.com getting some information and it seems like i'm a pro at agressive fish well to some like anglers and eels :) . Now i'm moving to missouri this july and i will be setting up a pretty big tank dimensions are 7ftx3ft. Now i would like to have a coral cat or a yellow stingray. Do any of you have these fish? I would love to try them. What are more active and playful? And i will need to know what brand of skimmer to get, any suggestions? Thanks! :happyfish Maybe i could have both?? The tank mates will be 2 eels and a frogfish.....if the frogfish struggles in that tank i will move him to his own tank.

tony detroit

Hey dude,
Not to burst your bubble and not to bloat about the guys with big tanks. But be prepared to spend 15,000 setting up the tank, and roughly 200-300 a month to run it.
If you can swing it, that's awesome. If not, get a smaller tank. It doesn't have to be big to be good. I'm more impressed with a guy's 55gal done the right way than a pieced together 180.
JMO
tony

cartman101

I just want the tank size that can house a ray or a shark or maybe both :) Yes, i know it will cost me alot but it seems like my parents where saving some money for this big tank. very excited to do this

vanos

Prepare to spend a lot of money. My 55 G was about $1,500. I can't imagine what it would cost for that size tank. Why not get a 125 long or a 150 tall and house small differen't fish.

requiem

My aquarium was $3000 and its 2700 gallons a little over a $1 a gallon
it will be finshed this (Tue).

angelsrock

Originally Posted by tony detroit
Hey dude,
roughly 200-300 a month to run it.
tony