I'm VERY disappointed in my Magfloat

maryc137

Just bought the large size for acrylic. Used it last night first time, and it's terrible! Missed all kinds of spots. I don't mean the hard stuff, just the light green film that gets on the front. It's kind of like the surface is not flat, so it when you make a pass, it cleans a couple stripes and leaves the rest. I thought it would be easier that sticking my arm in everytime I wanted to clean the front of the tank, but I guess I wasted my money.

hairtrigger

Yeah, I have several friends in both SW and FW who bought those and are furious over the waste of money. I have had great success and am very pleased with the magnavore that Ive been using for 3 years. It was a little pricy for a magnet, but now I find that it was well worth it... for the ex girlfriend that bought it for me as a gift. :D

tangman99

I bought a magfloat also and thought it was junk. You have to wipe an area several times to get it clean unlike the previous magnet I used. I just use the Kent scrapers now as I ususally have coraline algea spots all over my glass.

tangman99

Hey Lebowski (your dudeness),
It's not a matter of being lazy. It's just why would I want to spend time going over the same area more than once when I don't have to with other magnets I've owned. Even cheap ones. It works ok after after I've gone over the same area 4 or 5 times.

M

macyjo

i have had good luck with it--i started out with very clean glass an swipe it everyday--regardless whether i can see build up or not--daily maintance

tangman99

Originally posted by Lebowski
Do you scrap coralline from the back>? Or sides?:confused:

Yeah. That is why I said I don't use the magnets anymore. I always have little coraline spots all over my side and front glass that I have to use the Kent scraper on to get clean. The scraper peels the algea off very easily so I just scrape and get it all at once.

jarvis