Is sunlight supply or cooltouch mh any good?

alison

Hi, I found a couple deals on dual 175 watt retro kits. One deal the balast brand is by Sunlight supply that I'm leaning to. The other is by Cool touch, but that ones electromagnetic. I dono if that's electronic or magnetic? I just don't know which brand is better, or if either is any good. Anyone? Thanks in advance, Alison

golfish

What's inside is all the same, meaning the ballasts inside the heat sink is the same on both. Sunlight Supply makes a MUCH BETTER heat sinkcase then Cool Touch or any of the other Mag ballast makers that I have seen..

alison

Hi, thanks for the reply. Heat sink? You lost me. I'm just getting into mh's. I couldn't see anywhere where the sunlight supply one mentioned electronic or magnetic. What are clues so I don't have to keep asking if they don't mention. I want to go electronic for the noise and heat. Thanks, Alison

golfish

I don't think either one you mentioned is electronic, wait! the Bluewave IV from SS is electronic.....
What noise? I've never heard my ballast make noise. If heats a problem just move the ballast outside, in the next room or in the garage.

alison

Hi, thanks for your reply. I just started learning about mh's so this is all so new to me. The reason I was leaning towards electronic is everyone just says it's a little easier because of the lower heat issues, and some magnetic balasts, have a humm to them. That's what I meant. I'm just goin by what some say, so I dono. I found a deal on a 175W dual PS Metal Halide Retro Kit, nib It's a dual pulse start balast. Blue Wave 1 Pulse start balast, mogul base sockets set in stainless steel holder, made by sunlight supply, 5 year warrantee. For $229.00
Is that magnetic or electronic do you think? I'd have to buy the bulbs too. Should I do 10, 12 or 14k, and what's a good cheaper brand? Thanks, Alison

iwantacans

Originally posted by alison
what's a good cheaper brand?