Is there an ideal water temperature

boomper

I know there's a certain suggested range for the water temperature, in fact it has it in green on my thermometer. However, I was wondering if there is a specific temperature that is ideal for fish. Also, in case of emergencies (ie powerfailures, drastic outside temperature changes) what is an unbearable minimum or maximum temp?

smshep01

Before I go any farther, I am a newbie as well...I have done a lot of research and asked a lot of quesitons on here and this is the answer many other helpful people gave me. The water temp needs to be 76-82 F depending on what live stock you have in your tank (been told 82 F is a little on the high side). Also, your light plays a factor in temperature as well. You need to make sure you have a big enough heater for your tank size. I have a 29 Gal tank and have a 150 W heater which is more than enough from what I am told. Anyways I hope this helps. As far as if power goes out or drastic temperature changes happens to the tank, I cannot answer that. Like I said I am a newbie myself and just telling you what I have found out so far. Good luck.

boomper

Thanks peeps, yeah my water is about 79 degrees and I only have a 30 gal with the same heater you mentioned.

smshep01

Well mine is a 29 Gal and I just started it on Monday so I am learning as well and spent all day in here getting advice from others lol. It's a good place to learn, even if everyone has a different opionion on something, you can still get good advice. Wish you the best of luck!

S

sebae0

genarally 78-82 is fine but there are people who get the temp a little higher in the summer do to the place where they live. my tank seems to do better in the low 80's(81-83) but in the winter it hovers around 79-81. as far as your heaters go its better to have 2 smaller heaters than 1 too big because if the big one fails in the open stage you could cook your tank.

stillfrodo