it's been 5 weeks and my tank hasn't cycled yet, did I miss it?

djhir

Hello, I'm new to the hobby and have a 90 gal. LRFO with 80lbs crushed coral substrate, wet/dry filter, 15lbs base rock and 15lb LR (plan on adding more LR in future). Its been up and running for 5 weeks and I haven't seen any changes in my pH, ammonia, nitrate or nitrites. My LFS said it would take approx. 4-6 weeks to cycle. My LFS also recommended damsels to start the cycling process, so I added a large domino damsel, a med. three-striped damsel, 2 sm. yellow-tailed blue damsels and 2 sm. clowns. About three weeks into it, I started getting a brown algea? substance growing on the rocks and glass (which I found was normal in new tanks) again my LFS recommended getting some blue-legged hermit crabs, so I added 12 little ones which helped quite a bit. I have not done any water changes, just adding water to keep the salinity and water levels maintained. I am using softened well water, hopefully updating to RO water soon. I have also discovered I have little critters living in my substrate which my LFS told me that they are called anthropods? and are a sign of a healthy tank, I told them my tank hasn't cycled and they gave me some "TLC" (live bacteria) to help speed things up, but still nothing. My tank appears to be very healthy and looks good, and I check the chemical levels about every five days with no changes. I don't know where I'm at in the cycling process and after checking the boards about cycling and the recommendations of just adding a shrimp, I don't know if my LFS is leading me in the right direction. Any advice ???

donjasper

Sounds to me like it's cycled. Once you get the algea bloom - you've pretty much cycled in my limited experience.
Ditto on the crushed coral.

beaslbob