JBJ HQI 28g Beginner Needs advice, pretty please

ladyhealth

Hello Everyone!
I'm expecting to get my 28g HQI Nanocube by wens:) I can't wait!!!!!!!
I'm new to the hobby and I'm looking to take things REALLY slow. I have been researching and reading for close to a year now. I still feel really intimidated.
My long term goal is to have a reef tank (hopefully like Demartini's) with a few fish, and a clam or two, maybe a flame scollop (if permissible).
1) This is the list of stuff I already have:
40 pounds of live sand- (arag live) Caribe Sea
15.5 pounds- Oceanic Sea Salt mix
160 g Reef Crystals- Instant Ocean
2) I'm trying to determine which additives and testing kit(s) would be needed. Something reliable and cost efficient would be great. Any advice about which one's i need?
3) I have been reading that this system needs a chiller. Those JBJ chillers (JBJ Mini Arctica 1/15 hp chiller or 1/20 hp Nano Arctica Chiller) are just way too expensive. Can anyone recommend something else? Or is the JBJ essential? Also, it seems the mini is the right one for this AIO. Any thoughts from the pros?
4) I still have to buy the live rock. I know I need 1-1.5pounds per gallon. Is it ok to do just 1 pound? Or I shouldn't skimp?
5) I would love it if someone could provide a list of things needed for start up and perhaps a link with simple step by step instructions for initial and on-going set-up.
Happy Holidays everyone and thank you all soooooo much for any possible advice you can offer. I deeply appreciate it:)
Best Wishes:)
Ladyhealth

halostalker

u stole my idea, lmao im planning on geting the same tank and would love to know hows everything goin, and how u like the tank, yea the chiller is a big problem huh let me kno if u find something cheap (i don't have that much money=(..............)

halostalker

Yea this chiller is really scaring me b/c i think i would of bought it already but i really don't have the money to buy a chiller=(

poop_head