Just starting out with 30G tank ..

This is my first time having fish .. I bought a 30G tank ..
So far I have the salt in the water and have it filtering now .. On tuesday I'm going to bring in a sample of my water and hopefully get some live sand !
I've been talking to the owner of the petstore and basically going right along with all his advise. ..
I might even get a domino fish too ..
eventually, I want to have some live coral, rock, sand , and fish and hermit crabs .. .not too sure though, still reading and trying to learn as much as I can ...

kiefers

Welcome to the site and hobby. If you do your research and take your time you will have a wonderful new hobby.
Keep in mind that most petstores do not not necessarily have your best interest in mind. They are there to sell you things. The more problems you have, the more they sell you. You really need to do your own research, don't rely on one person to tell you what to do. A great place to start is under the New Hobbiest section in this forum, then read 101 things for new aquarist to know (not sure I have the title correct but it is close)
Please do not use a live fish to cycle your tank!!!!! It is much more humane to use a dead shrimp and accomplishes the same thing. Also a domino damsel will get very aggressive--towards you and other fish. It isn't the ideal first fish, especially in a 30 gallon tank. They are cute when little, can be nasty later. You will want to buy your own test kits so you can keep track of the cycle yourself. It is okay to start adding live sand and rock to get things going. You will get alot of advice here---you might just want to post a list of your equipment and what you would like to eventually put in the tank and get the ball rolling!!

mproctor4

Sorry.....just realized that I posted under Kiefers name again (he is my hubbie). For some reason he was on my computer last night.

Ok so I've had the tank cycling since last night, and if my water is good I will buy live sand tuesday ..