Killer Tank

C

calvertbill

I don't understand.
I have a tank which successfully supports 8 fish, 5 large Tangs (3 Yellow+1 Purple+1 Desjardinii), 1 Copperband and a very large 5" pair of Clarkii.
It is also home to 30 different species of corals. My montis grow like weeds, my Cynaria and Scolymia have trebled in size. Leathers, Caulastrea, anthelia, wellsophia, acans, acropora, eveyrbody's happy. Three good size deRasas and a Maxima, also happy.
But my tank kills anemones. I used to think it was only Carpets. I lost a purple, a blue and two greens. I thought that the BTAs and long tentacles just migrated to a location of better flow. But over the course of this last month I watched a 3" diameter BTA become 2", then 1" and could now hide behind a dime.
I don't get it.

mr.m

Well i dont know what the Prim of your tank is and I am not a expert . But i lost 2 befor i got smart and looked at my lights and SG i went to MH and raised my SG to 1.26 and now I have very good results with them.
Mark

ccampbell57

What is your parameters of the tank. Anemones are really unstable when your Nitrates are out of whack.
They also require some iodine and strontium for long term health. Also, were you spot feeding your anemones?

earlybird

Raises a few other questions. Lighting is fine. What kind of filtration and do you run carbon? What was the health of the anemone when purchased and were they all purchased from the same place?

veni vidi vici

Originally Posted by earlybird
http:///forum/post/2616288
Raises a few other questions. Lighting is fine. What kind of filtration and do you run carbon? What was the health of the anemone when purchased and were they all purchased from the same place?
Just out of curiosity EB but how can you say light is fine without knowing size of tank?
I could be wrong and chances are i probably am but....
Slow death over a 3 month period affecting one specific inhabitant seems odd.

kirkland