LFS or Saltwater.com

edpete97

Just started my tank today. I got a 90 gallon pre-drilled tank with a nice filtration system, sub-compact lighting system, cherry hood and stand, and protien skimmer for $750. It's about a year old, but in great shape. Was looking for this at the LFS and it was 3 times that. I got all of my salt, chemicals, etc. from them this afternoon. Tank is set up and running, salt is in as well as phosphate killers. Live sand is in the bags in the bottom of the tank. I didn't want to open them until the salinity was right but wanted the water already displaced when I filled the tank. I'm new to the saltwater reef tank hobby as of today. My dilema is this: LFS wants $9/lb for live rock and thier fish are expensive. Everything here at Saltwaterfish.com is at least half that with free shipping. I'm getting support from the LFS and I want to get my water from them for changes because it is RO. But, I also want to save money. What is a newb to do?

riafekim

I have used both. The deal with SWF is you have to purchase a minimum of $79 worth of live stock. Then you get free shipping...sort of. You still have to pay a processing fee and fuel charge. This runs about $15. Still cheaper than paying for shipping at other sites. If I know I am going to make a large order I will go with SWF. If I just want one or two things I will go the the LFS.

rykna

saltwater is a great site.....saving money is everything in this hobby. You will need to cure the live rock if you get it shipped to you via mail, but it will be well worth the time, besides you still need at least 3 months to let your new tank cycle. So I vote for ordering from online!!!! Welcome aboard!

edpete97