Lighting - Loud Popping Noise!!

sdascher

I thought that may get your attention! I did the wiring myself as that is what I do for a living so I know that the lighting fixtures are safe. I tested them one by one when I mounted them and I used all teflon wire. This is my problem though - after I turn the lights off - 4- 50/50 smart lights that get really hot - the cooling down gives out these really loud popping noises! Scares the heck out of people! I am guessing that it is coming from the metal mirror reflectors of course, but I don't quite know what to do about it. Anyone else have this problem??? I use 2 clip on fans that run all of the time and the tank temp stays at 78 - which has worked out fine for me! I was thinking that maybe I need to remove the top and also each light reflector and maybe put some kind of heat resistant washer/padding behind it but I don't think that it will do any good as they are mounted on the wood top now..... and the metal will still get just as hot. Maybe I should just remove the reflectors??? Is there anyone out there using the mirror metal reflectors??? I would assume that most people do.....
I have 2 shutting down one hour before the other 2 and the same in the starting up.
Thanks - once again for any suggestions!

reefnut

Are they the reflectors that came with the lights or DIY reflectors? Removing them will cause a lot of light loss so I would try to fix them.
Do you thing it would help to put more fastening screws in the reflector? Sounds like when they get hot and expand that they are bowing up and when they cool they pop back into place. A few more screws may fix it.

sdascher

Thanks for the suggestion. I will have to do something as when you walk into my tank room after the lights go out - it sounds like someone is shooting at you!! I am going to remove the canopy this week-end and try to fix the problem. ( it scares the hell out of my hubby..... he jumps! I sort of like it in a sick kind of way...) Tee Hee........