Lighting Question

anthonym28

I am in the process of setting up my tank; I am new to saltwater and have a lighting question/recommendation. I have a 92 gallon bow tank, made by all-glass. I plan on having live rock, coral, fish and inverts and I would like a recommendation on lighting. The two lights I am currently looking at are the Aqualight Pro Retrofit Kit - 36" and 36" Outer Orbit 1x150W HQI-MH w/Actinic. As I said I am new to saltwater and inexperienced any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

chickadee

there's no definate answer to your question. what you want to do is look into the corals you'd like to have. If you want just soft corals and LPS (large polyp stony) corals, your lighting doesn't need to be as strong as if you have SPS (small polyp stony) and/or anemones. So your first plan of action should be to put together a list of corals you want. Do some research and then take it from there.
Now a MH is a great light, but that is the strongest one AND the most expensive. So if you only want corals that need moderate lighting, that might be a bigger purchase than necessary. When you see a coral that nees "moderate lighting", normaly a high amount of just PC lighting would do just fine. If it says it needs "strong lighting", that normally means you'll want VHO or better.