Lion question

pugnut87

I am really new to the world of Salt water, Somebody close to me does salt water and it is very interesting to me. They have a 75 Gallon reef tank, We have a 34 gallon cube that I want to put a lion in.
Question is if I got a small lion would it be ok by itself in the 34 for awhile. Don't really have any room to put up a bigger tank for now. But maybe in the future??
Thanks for any info.
Cheers

srfisher17

Originally Posted by pugnut87
http:///forum/post/3078550
I am really new to the world of Salt water, Somebody close to me does salt water and it is very interesting to me. They have a 75 Gallon reef tank, We have a 34 gallon cube that I want to put a lion in.
Question is if I got a small lion would it be ok by itself in the 34 for awhile. Don't really have any room to put up a bigger tank for now. But maybe in the future??
Thanks for any info.
Cheers
A fuzzy dwarf, or other small lion can be kept in a 34; IMO. Avoid Volitans and other large lions, they grow faster than any fish I know of. A lion in a tank that size will really limit what you can have for tankmates; when grown, it will eat most species that are common in smaller tanks. They grow to about 7" and can easily scarf a fish nearly half that size. Small inverts will be lunch also.

pugnut87

Ok cool thanks for the info. I would only want to lion in the tank. I really enjoy them and we have the 75 for other kinds of fish.
Cheers

aquaguy24

I have a fuzzy with two leaf scorpionfish in a 24g aquapod. No problems yet. Only had them for a little over 2 months so to early to call it a success story. Plannin on a 34g salona soon.

premilove

when you get your fuzzy, make sure he is eating before you buy him. also, make a cave out of LR so your fuzzy has a nice place to sleep. good luck! at least you are not putting a trigger in a nano like some other irresponsible hobbyists.

grabbitt