Lionfish in the Bahamas

ophiura

Just got back from San Salvador Bahamas. If you are not familiar with it, it is one of the out islands. First day in the water, first 10 minutes....a lionfish!
Over successive days, we saw loads, and others reported seeing dozens. So they are firmly established now throughout the Bahamas, probably the whole Caribbean.
In talking to some of the scientists there, it is thought now the introduction was quite possibly a wholesaler in Florida. I guess this company had a tendancy to release any sick fish instead of destroying them, and due to the reproduction of lionfish they have spread quickly. Definitely well established, breeding and likely making a significant impact on local species.
It was quite a shock to see.

scrombus2

I live on the "Treasure Coast" of Florida and have seen several Lions on the reefs of South Florida, Off Palm Beach, Boynton Bch, and points south. I've been diving the reefs here and the Bahamas for 20 years and have seen my share of exotic species.I just today, caught a damsel as yet unidentified, and I've never seen one -ever- in 20 years. I'll post a pic and id tomorrow.

louti

Out of curiosity, how deep were you diving when you saw the lionfish? I know they have bee noff the coast of FL all the way up to the Carolinas for some years now, but I've only heard of them spotted on deep dives (like 100 ft or so).

A

alexmir

In talking to some of the scientists there, it is thought now the introduction was quite possibly a wholesaler in Florida. I guess this company had a tendancy to release any sick fish instead of destroying them, and due to the reproduction of lionfish they have spread quickly. Definitely well established, breeding and likely making a significant impact on local species.
Some people are SO irresponsible! are the lionfish affecting the local fish populations and that is why it is a problem? or is it just strange that there are lots of them in an environment where they did not originate?