Live sand question

jojoandphia

I have read the live sand threads and I was just wondering about something.
Most of them say that you can use just a thin layer of live sand and you can just non-live sand for the rest and the non-live sand will become live sand because of the other live sand in the tank. So to the question, where do you buy the non-live sand? Can you get the play sand like at a home store and put that in the tank and the live sand on top?

Don't get play sand. Most of that sand is synthetic and contains all kinds of things you don't want in your tank. Like silicone. You can buy dead sand at your LFS for cheap. Just make sure it's real sand and not synthetic..

dinki

Originally Posted by usefulidiot213
Don't get play sand.
So the play sand (New Castle??) at Home Depot that fizzes when you put vinegar on it is not a viable choice? I'm a newbie but I saw information saying that this stuff is good for the bed if seeded with live sand.

prez

From what I have seen, most people like that sand. Me personally I would not put it in my tank. Check around read about it. Im sure someone on this board has actually used the stuff and can tell you all about it.

1journeyman

Originally Posted by dinki
So the play sand (New Castle??) at Home Depot that fizzes when you put vinegar on it is not a viable choice? I'm a newbie but I saw information saying that this stuff is good for the bed if seeded with live sand.
IF you can still find "Old Castle" "Yardright" or "Southdown" sand you should be fine. I have 700Lbs of it in my 180 and refugium. It is a very fine sand, so placing base rock in it for your live rock to sit on is absoultely a neccessity.