liverock -vs- deadrock

daniel27407

:confused: ok im new to saltwater but ive had fish for years and im switching over a 45 high cichlid tank to saltwater. Im doing my research but I don't get live rock especialy now that I saw a post on here that someone had dead rock they were turning into live rock. To my understanding live rock just means a rock w/organisms living on it. Is this correct any help taken gladly:confused:

acez28

Yes liverock has living things on them....dead rocks are dry and nothing is alive on them. You can turn dead rock live by seeding it with other live rock. I did that in my tank. I used about 30-40lbs of LR and then the rest is base rock(dead rock) but after about 3-4 months most of the rock has turned into LR. They have lost thier white coloring and turn darker. But the you get more with the LR....on one piece of LR i have there are 20-30 small clear anemonies with white tips or something on it (not Aptasia tho). Also i have one piece with feather dusters or fan worms on it. I have a big piece of LR with about 5 peanut worms in it. I got 2 snails on i dont know which rocks but the appear every once in a while and then dissappear. Plus the LR gives a more natural look and feel for the fish and they have something to graze on. If i had the money at the time i would have bought all LR but i didnt so i used some base rock.

daniel27407

well i have about 30-40 lbs. of rock which was in the tank w/my cichlids. If I plan to do a nice coral tank and cover most of the back of the tank how much live rock would you say I need (im guessing just go by site of the pieces I pick) and is there anything I need to do for weight of so much rock and aragonite...

ackermsb

The general rule of thumb is 1lb - 1.5lbs of live rock per gallon for a reef tank however there are people like myself who like the fishes to have lots of swimming room and have a lot less rock than that.