Looking for Answers.....

krisiks

Hi everybody,
Hope someone can give me some answers.
I am new to the hobby. I was doing freshwater fish and had discus fish, they are still alive and are doing great :) Like everybody knows, when cycling a tank, nitrite will rise and then goes down and during this process we cannot add fish as it will die. And this also apply to saltwater if I am not wrong.
Now it is already 2-3 weeks that I have set up my tank and everything seems to be alright. I got everything from the sea, live rock, live sand, inverts, and 10 small fish which is about 1cm long (Don't know the name of the fish) and some small anemone (also don't know their names :) ), and last sunday I caught a boxfish and add it in my tank. For your information, my tank is a 70 gals. Last week I tested for nitrite and it was very high and I though everything would die in my tank but Yesterday I tested for nitrite again (the only test I have for the moment) and it was still high, and everything was still doing great, I feed them everyday and for the small anemone once a week.
Can saltwater creatures survive in high nitrite???
Can someone explain me???
Waiting for your reply.
Thanks.

lanochka

Are you doing some kind of an experiment and waiting for them to die?! When I was doing my cycling I bought the fish that was supposed to survive it. (just wondering...)

ricks280

kris, why ask the board if you allready stocked up on victims?
you mentioned that the nitrites are high! sorry but that tank will crash big time.
i wont even mention anything regarding your stock