Loud Wet Dry Gurgle Noises

I

irenicus

Hello, I finally convinced my girlfriend to get SW tank for our bedroom. I have an overflow box that was attached with a hole drilled in. I have a 75 gallon tank w/ a 20L sump. I have a Mag Drive 7 / Pondmaster 700 pump. I started it up and now there is the loud gurgle noise that goes every 15 seconds. It's driving us both nuts and if I can't fix it my bedroom aquarium will soon gurgle down the drain... Please Help

slb243

I know exactly what you are talking about. I think the gurgle noise is caused by an uneven flow and air and water "surging" down the overflow as it goes into the hole going to the drain hose to the sump. Is it an amiracle overflow box? They come with a cylinder-shaped prefilter spongue. A prefilter spongue, correctly arranged can sometimes correct the gurgling. Try lots of different arrangements with a prefilter spongue but you may not be able to get it quiet enough to keep in the bedroom.

I

irenicus

Its just a standard square overflow box that is about 6 inches in height, 6 in length, and 3 1/2 depth?. I don't mind water noise, but this is an obnoxious gurgle like when a tub is just about done draining. I'll try a prefilter sponge to see if that will help. THANX

richard rendos

If your return pump is running full open, put a ball valve inline between the pump and the tank. Adjust the ball valve until the noise stops. I had the same problem in my kitchen tank and the ball valve adjustment fixed it.

broomer5

I had to tinker with the drain hose(s) somewhat to silence my overflows.
If you have flexible drain hose(s) try to move them around - trying different positions, allowing the water to drain to the sump different ways.