2-Green Chromis
1-Yellowtail Blue
1-Three Stripe
2-camel backs
PH 8.2
Ammonia .30
Nitrite 0
Nitrate10
Was reading and seen alot suggest that there should be atleast 4" of sand. How should I add more or when should I do it. Also my equipment good for the tank that I have picked out.

S

sebae0

im no expert and dont claim to be but why did you start with so many fish and inverts to start? 1 fish would have done the job. the dsb helps in denitrification after your tank has cycled and has gotten established. remember patience my friend dont rush it and you will be better off in the long run.

rgoodwin

It was what my LFS tod me to do that it would help cycle my tank. This is my first SWF set up. Was just doping what I was told to do. Then I found this site and started reading.

majakarot

i don't know about the green chromis, but the other three damsels can survive the cycle if healthy, the hex tank can be used for sw, but you can't have as many fish in it because the surface area is less, also it is probably too deep to get good lighting in unless you added a single metal halide pendant, then you could havbe corals and whatnot, if you are going fish only i would just add a double striplight --- and damsels can be enjoyable fish if you don't overpopulate, i have 6 fish in my 75, 4 being damsels and they do not fight at all and are very active and agressive eaters, but they practically killed each other in my 29...

rgoodwin

The more I learn about SW tanks the more I regret buying a hex tank I could have boght a 125 Gal for another 125 dollars. And yes I am aware now that Im am going to be limited on the fish. I plan to just have a lion and a yellow tang in the tank. I figure the Lion is more of a hover fish than a pacer. I am not a pro I am just learning and trying to do it right or I would not be wasting my time trying to get help. I do have twin bulbs that came with my tank. Do I need special bulbs for my live rock.

gregzbobo