My AP 24 HQI 150...

kjohansen

I am just getting started.. I have about 17 pounds of LR and 30 lbs of sand in it. I am getting another 17 - 20 pounds of LR tomorrow.
Here is a pic that I took this afternoon of it..

kjohansen

Well.... lets see..
Some soft corals and maybe a few hard ones too.
2 clowns, either maroons or percs.
A firefish
a crab
nasarus snails
cleaner shrimp

khaari

Sounds like its gonna be a nice setup. I'd go with the percs or occelaris clowns instead of the maroons. They can get aggressive and its not usually a good idea to have a pair in a smaller tank with other fish.

kjohansen

I'm also running a MJ 1200 instead of the stock pump and took out the ceramic thingys and the bio-balls. Put live rock rubble in the sump. Instead of the stock outlet I have a Hydor-Flo.
I am waiting for another Hydor-Flo and I have a MJ 400 to put inside the tank for more water movement.

greenreefer

Did a mj1200 fit on to the current supply tube or did yo have to get creative? If you had to mod, what worked? Would you recommend the hydor? How deep a sand bed are you running?

kjohansen

Originally Posted by GreenReefer
Did a mj1200 fit on to the current supply tube or did yo have to get creative? If you had to mod, what worked? Would you recommend the hydor? How deep a sand bed are you running?
No, the current supply tube is to big. I used 1/2 inch tubing with a plastic clamp to make sure the connection was tight on the MJ 1200. The tube runs up and can be inserted right where the L connector slipped in and creating a much smoother bend.
So far I like Hydor a lot!
I have 1 1/2 to 2 inch sand bed.

oceansidefish

We used O rings when we went to a split head. I am assuming you can get them from home depot or something, my husband took one from work.

greenreefer

I was looking at making the switch to a mj1200 for the pump, but when I looked at the gph they were about the same. Why did you decide to switch?

kjohansen