My new 34 gal reef tank-from a complete newbie

tkucifer

Part I: History
I have had a couple of fresh water tanks over the years; always more fun at first than later. Let's face it, fish don't do much. So when my friend (we'll call her CTRF) said I should try a salt water tank I said "no thanks, I've done the fish thing". But then she showed me reef tanks--pompom xenia, pistol shrimp and watchman goby, boxer crab, electric clam...wait, this isn't my mother's fish bowl! She's a big enthusiast, and eventually it wore off on me.
Part II: The Present...
both physically and metaphysically. Yesterday I turned, gasp, 40. The DH bought me a 34 gallon RedSea 130D and the "stuff" to get started. Before and after fireworks I spent time assembling the stand and the tank (more work than I anticipated), adding "stuff", and just generally admiring my handiwork. It's a good thing; I understand I'll be admiring it in its present condition for a month or so while I patiently (!) wait for it to cycle. But I've been warned by enough experts not to cheat on the cycling, so I promise to be good.
Part III: The Future...
I'll be posting pics of the tank such as it is here, and will be asking LOTS of questions of everyone!
Attachment 244245
Attachment 244244
Attachment 244246
Attachment 244247

S

shrimpy brains

Welcome to SWF! Congratulations!
Looks nice! I like the way you placed your live rock! I also recommend more!
Also, since you added the sand first, be sure to shimmy and press the rock into the sand till it touches the bottom of tank. If you get any burrowing critters later. You don't want them to be able to dig under the rock. This can possibly cause the rock to fall and may crush your critters or break your glass!

tkucifer

It is basking in the sun in the backyard. I just finished rinsing it off; next is the salt water rinse then the big reveal. :)
I'll post a pic, don't worry!!!

tkucifer