Need Info on Set up

jello2000

Hello board users and hobbists. I am new on this forum and I am currently a student at the University of Wisconsin Madison. I have some funds for setting up a Marine 55 gallon aquarium and need as much help as possible. I am a zoology and conservation biology major, if you guys like to know.
I have been rearing and breeding fresh water fishes since 6th grade. But now I am looking to move onto salt water fish, its part research too :). So, I need some expert hobbists to help me out.
I need to know all the basic information needed to start a 55 gallon. All I have right now is a 55 gallon Tank. No lights, no filter and what not.
I need to know the exactly items for a proper marine tank.
Can you experts list the items and the estimated cost of each item. It will be a reef tank. Plz list everything that is needed to properly set up a tank. Also need to know, what cycling is, and all these other "technical tersm" that I have been reading on these forums.
Please, really do need to set up this tank well, so any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you

ross

Hey jello2000 Welcome to the board
Your saltwater tank can be a little bit harder than freshwater but you will be alright if you take the advice from the guys on this board.
First you will need some type of filter. Alot of people use a wet/dry filter and this will probably cost about $150 w/the pump
You will also need a couple of powerheads for extra circulation. These cost around $20 bucks a piece. You will also need a heater. This will cost around $30. Then lights if you don't want a reef tank then a fluorescent light. Since you do want a reef tank then the light will cost a couple hundred bucks for that. I'm probably forgetting something but somebody else will respond.
You will also need live rock. A general rule is 1-1.5 lbs per gallon. Live rock costs about $5 a pound.
Good Luck and ask all the questions you need!

birdy