need some help

jacklinks

Hey guys so I’m new to the hobby and recently finished cycling my tank. Me being dumb I didn’t quarantine my clowns before I put them in the tank and now one of them has white spots all over him and I don’t know what to do. Parameters are fine everything is at 0 just did the weekly water change salinity is at 1.024 idk if u can see the picture because he moves around too much but there’s white spots all over him and it really pops out when the moonlights are on he’s been eating and swimming normally and it’s been a week or two since I started noticing the spots

Attachments

lmforbis

Definitely looks like ich. Unfortunately your tank is now infected. You need to remove the all fish (I assume you just have the clowns) and treat them. You need to keep your tank fishless for 72 days to allow the ich to die off.

Reefing_with_John

Administrator
Staff member
It’s ich for sure, not good ich lives everywhere in the tank and spreads rapidly, I recommend dropping the salinity to about 1.020 over a period of time don’t drop it from 1.024 to 1.020 in a day raising the temp very slowly to about 80-82 higher temps will kill ich off

lmforbis

It’s ich for sure, not good ich lives everywhere in the tank and spreads rapidly, I recommend dropping the salinity to about 1.020 over a period of time don’t drop it from 1.024 to 1.020 in a day raising the temp very slowly to about 80-82 higher temps will kill ich off
It is well known that salinity at 1.020 won’t get rid of ich. It may suppress it but it won’t kill it. increasing the temp will speed the life cycle slightly but it won’t kill ich. The temp necessary to kill ich is very high and will kill everything else. Keep in mind, ich is present in the ocean. On the reefs the temp is often above 90 degrees these days. Two years ago I was diving in Grand Cayman the temp was 94 degrees in the water. I saw plenty of fish with ich. As soon as the salinity goes back to normal, ich will be back with a vengeance.