New 29 gallon salt water aquarium

Andrewj2112

I am relatively new to salt water aquariums and have never had one on my own. My tank is running and everything tests right. What fish are ideal for a 29 gallon tank with coral skeletons?

Jesterrace

Normally I would jump right into the fish, but given this is your first saltwater setup and the cycling process is where most of the headaches happen for saltwater newbies, we should clarify that your tank has properly cycled. You stated that everything tests right, are your Ammonia, Nitrate and Nitrites all 0 and have you had your brown algae bloom? Also what sort of water and salt mix are you using?

If all that checks out then the first thing to know about saltwater fish is that you have to be very careful about matching fish of a similar temperament. Saltwater fish are generally far more active than freshwater fish and as such you are going to be dealing with territorial issues far more than you would with freshwater. You also will not be able to pack it full of fish like you can with freshwater (I would say about 4-5 fish max for your size of tank). Each fish also has individual personality traits and quirks that may not fit the norm for the species. I have a Diamond Watchman Goby, generally considered a peaceful fish that stays on the bottom sifting sand, that is very territorial and will actually chase my scissortail up to near the top of the tank when he feels like it and will challenge any new fish added to the tank. For your size of tank, you can either go with a Peaceful demeanor setup or a Semi-Aggressive setup. Both have their advantages and disadvantages.

The Pros of Peaceful Fish

1. Will generally get along well with one another and not bother each other
2. Won't nibble on your corals or clean up crew (ie Snails and Crabs)
3. Will probably leave shrimp alone (ie Cleaner Shrimp)

The Cons of Peaceful Fish