New 80 Gallon Tank

blissninny

Although I have a few years of experience with saltwater tanks...I have always retrieved my fish directly from the ocean. Can't do that now and need advice on what to do with my new (old) tank. I set it up 4 days ago and think I have all the chemicles balanced enough to add damsels but want to know what kind and how many will be best for the conditioning of the tank and safety of the fish. Ultimately I want trigger and grouper in the tank but I understand I need to start with something else first. Any recommendations?

dogstar

Most members here will tell you that useing live fish to cycle a tank is CRUEL. To just drop in a dead shrimp or simular from the grocery store or LFS.

blissninny

Originally Posted by Dogstar
Most members here will tell you that useing live fish to cycle a tank is CRUEL. To just drop in a dead shrimp or simular from the grocery store or LFS.
Are you serious? I wouldn't just discard the fish. I already asked the provider is they would take them back and they agreed. Seriously, what should I put in the tank and for how long?

dogstar

Originally Posted by Blissninny
Are you serious?
Yep. just do a search here on cycle.....https://forums.saltwaterfish.com/t/178984/beginning-tank-cycle
Also most Groupers and some Triggers should not go in a 80g, too small.
I dont know how long ago you used to have your other tank, but a lot has changed in the hobby as far as ethics and what should and should not be done so...
I will just say to you to take your time and try to re=educate yourself with newer Ideas and not listen too much to the LFS because they mostly just want to sell you anything they can talk you in to buying.
I say this with respect and dont mean to critisize you but I think you will enjoy your new tank much better if you do.
search and countinue to read this and other sites for a wealth of imformation.
BTW, welcome to this site.

blissninny

Originally Posted by Dogstar