New Bulb Anenome

lenard

I bought this anenome three or four days ago. It looks fine but it is under a rock in the shodows. The foot has a lot of color but the tenticles are deflated. I have fluoresent lighting with lots of sunlight through the window. Should i move it or let it be?:jumping:

aburitojr

i dont wanna sound like a jerk but you seriously should think about researching animals before you get them. Anemones need the highest lighting possible which is metal halides. Currently, you have a bulb tip anemone under the lowest lighting that an aquariust can get. I suggest you either return it or give/sell the anemone to some one. Currently, it is slowly dieing. You may get another one once you have the proper lighting.

lenard

Thank you for the insight. However, as you may or may not be aware there is a lot of false information out there. This is the first anenome that I have had the desire to own. I bought it from a store that I have been doing buisness with for many years and was told that the lighting that i currently have is sufficiant. That is what I get for trusting a store owner. I have never had an interest in corals or anenomes until reacently and i am still learning.

aburitojr

i know lenard...i hate it when people sell things and give wrong information just to make $$$. For coral, i'd reccomend Aquariums Corals by Eric H. Borneman. The book contains lots of info and the author's email address. For information of clowns and anemones i'd recommend Clownfishes by Joyce Wilkerson. As i said earlier, i'd return the anemone and wait a little bit until your tank matures and you get stronger lighting.
A free site for really good information is

jacknjill

what kind of lighting do you have exactly?
by the way, sunlight is bad for the tank. causes tons of algae and other things. keep it from hitting the tank if possible.

aburitojr

jacknjill im gonna havta dissagree with you lol. check this site out.