new reef

dahlia

Well here goes...I am new to the reef hobby. Started my tank 10/12/2006.
Anyways I have a few questions. 1st...Just what is the best lighting for my tank? I have read EVERYTHING I think and LOTS of folks seem to swear Halide lighting is best. Maybe...but not the route I want to go.. There has to be just as good if not better out there.
I am just now starting to add corals and such. I have 2 green striped mushrooms and a bonus red mushroom..was attached to a piece of my live rock. Just bought a kenya tree and some brown zoanthids. I want to stick more with mushrooms, zoanthids, and definatly some others once I figure out my lighting. Any suggestions?
I have a 30 gallon, with about 22-24 lbs of live rock. A yellow tang, coral beauty, yellowtail damsel and maroon clown. A bubble tip anenome which the clown LOVES. 2 camelback shrimp, 4 nass snails, and my last purchase a lawnmower blenny.
I have had some green hair algea (not bad) but for the most part my tank has been going very smoothly for me, almost to smoothly it seems. :thinking:
all my levels have been very good, with the exception of my nitrates ( a little high)
I just started adding b-ionic comp 1 and 2 buffers. Have been adding calcium and iodine for awhile, but I don't seem to be having hardly any coraline growth really.
So I guess that brings me to my second and final question...
The lighting first and foremost and any ideas and or suggestions for me would be greatly appreciated, either on something I may be doing wrong iyo or something I might try to do differently. Thanks in advance all :happyfish

fishy.....

T-5 lighting may be the way to go if you are against using metal halide.
Do a search in the Lighting / Equipment Forum and you will find all the info on them that you need.

reefkprz

30G is too small for a tang. Over all I would say your on the verge of pushing your tank beyond its tolerances with the fish you have
camelback shrimp eat coral.