New Salt Water System

2naboat

Hello Y'all. First off let me say hello to everyone. I am a newbie to these forums. Well, ever since I was a kid I always wanted to get a salt water aquarium setup. Now that I have the money I was wondering how much could I expect to spend on lets say around 120 gallon aquarium complete with stand, pump, etc. Basically everything but the fish. I just don't want to get taken to the cleaners when I step into a shop checkbook in hand. Also, if anyone knows any good places in the Inland Empire region of Southern California. Pretty close to Los Angeles and Orange Counties as well. Thanks for any help you can provide and I look forward to what seems like a cool hobby.

shannpeach

Prepare yourself because it is pretty darn expensive. We have a 44 gallon reef tank and a 10 gallon fish only tank. The reef tanks tend to be more expensive. To give you a low ball estimate on how much we've spent....about 1,000 for everything including the live rock, live sand, filter, heater, protein skimmer, lighting for reef system, powerhead..... But I think alot of it depends on where you are geographically. We are in Wisconsin so maybe that makes things a little more expensive. IDK.

buzzword

Hi 2naBoat, to just give you an example. I just set up a 120g and I spent about $3000! I didn't skimp on anything though. I got stand and custom canopy. Am waiting on my 2x250w Metal Halide lights and I have 4x65w pc's to supplement the MH. My tank has dual overflows plumbed to a 30g sump/refugium, powered by a Sequence Dart pump, which kicks ass. I am getting 2400gphr. ASM skimmer. Titanium heater. 95# aragonite reef sand, 100# LR. No to mention all the little things like salt, refractometer, test kits, RO/DI unit (found a 100gpday cheap online), books, etc. Research for everything and all your questions here before you go out and spend your hard earned money! HTH

acrylic51