New Saltwater Tank

aqua blue

Hello Everyone.
I am new to the saltwater world. I am starting with a fish only tank. I have a 46 gal. (40 net gallons) bowfront tank with 40lbs. of live sand giving it about a 1.5 - 2 inch base. I am using only a Aqua Clear 300 for filtering right now. I set up the tank on 6/23. I let it run for one week to settle out the temp. and salinity. I am keeping the temp at 79 to avoid any fluctuation if possible. The salinity is 1.0220 - 1.0225. I added 3 damsels on 6/30. I also added "Cycle" to help with the initial bacteria development. I tested for levels on PH, Ammonia, Nitrite, and Nitrate about every second or third day. The PH has stayed right at 8.2. The Ammonia peaked at .50 on 7/9. The Nitrite peaked at .25-.50 on 7/9. The Nitrate peaked at 10ppm on 7/9. The Ammonia and Nitrite started dropping on 7/17. I did a 5 gal. water change on 7/18. ( after aerating the water for 24hrs.) This dropped the Nitrates down to about 5ppm on 7/20. I started noticing some diatom brown spots and added "Green-X" media to the Aqua Clear filter to help reduce phosphates, nitrites, nitrates. This was reccomended by LFS. On 7/26 I added a Yellow headed Sleeper Goby. As of 8/3 the PH is 8.2, Ammonia 0-.25, Nitrite 0-.25, and Nitrate 10ppm. I did another 5 gal. water channge on 8/4. I will test the water again on 8/7.
My first posted question is what other water tests do I need to do for a fish only tank? And am I way out in left field as a beginner?
Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Thanks.:)

jake22

your filter is the only thing i would replace. I am ruuning the aquaclear 300 on my 20 gallon tanks. On my 26 gallon tank i am running the 500. both tank also have 1 pound of rock per gallon and a dsb. I doubt a tank that size could do very good on a filter like that. Even though the 300 says it can handle tanks that size i would only use it on a 46 freshwater not a saltwater. I would think about upgrading to a better filter maybe a wetdry or something.