New tank Live rock to late?

skrimpz

Hello All,
I al new and started my Fish only tank about 4 weeks ago i has been running and i have added two blue finned damsels 2-3 days ago. I have been looking at all the forum and reading how live rock itsnt that much differnt from a fish only tank and doesnt really require any special attention, if this ture. And if so should i get some vern though i have already added two fish ? Also i am currently ucing a penguin 125 for a filter but am going to get a canister i was thinking the fluval 204 or the marineland HOT magenum. Which do you think is better? Thanx Hope evryone had a wonderful holidays!!!!! This is a pic of my tank so far!!

zibnata

In my opinion and I am far from an expert is that you will need good lighting for LR. What do you have for lights.You probably will have a cycle in your tank if you add too much at one time. I have a 55 and had a Fluval 304 and after it broke TWICE thank God I was near the tank or it would have emptied.Since then I have a hang on just to run carbon now and then.I have tons of LR which eliminates the use for a filter. I also have a protien skimmer. I hope you get more replies and If I am off the mark please feel free to correct me.

skrimpz

I only have one light it was a power-glo i got it from my work and said it was good for saltwater fish and inverts. My mother threw the box away so thats all i know, plus my tank is a hexagon which doesnt alow much space for lighting

zibnata

I would say you would need at least 2-65w Compact fluorecents to have LR.Do some searching to find the right size. Do a search on Corallife aqualights.There is a site that sells a 24" for $85.its a nice hood comes with one actinic bulb and one 10000k bulb. I have one on my 20 gallon and its good for LR. If you want I can email you the site if you give your email address.

cowfishrule

regular strip lights work for live rock. hell, when i was cycling my tank, i didnt even turn my lights on for the first 3 weeks