New Tank Problems

derwood

I am new to marine set ups, but considered myself pretty savvy to fresh water with years of experience so I thought I'd give it a try. So far I am disappointed. Lots of questions....
My system (35 hex) has been set up more than 3 weeks with ~30 lbs live rock and some sea shells (direct from ocean). Been having problems that I can't explain nor have I found any material to explain it.
I cured the tank to set up for ~10 days. ~ a week after introducing some fish 3 perc clowns, flame angel, & a couple of small hermits, they began dying off. I have testing water daily and all indications were well within limits (1.022-1.024 SG, trace of NH3 and NO2) but with a lower PH than I would have liked ~7.8-7.9. Strangely, when I test for NH3, I get good color reading, but, the test precipitates out into a milky film that settles in the test tube any ideas on this? Could this substance be the killer? If so, how do I find out what it is? Lost the hermits first, then the flame, then a couple of damsels added after the fact.
On top of this, my remaining clowns now have ick so I am considering tearing down and starting again. Any advice?
Also, what is a good safe way to get the PH up in the 8.0+ range?
Looks like my tank is currently cycling (its been 3.5 weeks) as I have lots of brown algae growth on the live rock and in the coral substrate. Assume this is normal and will reduce over time (or if I am ever able to add an algae eater...)
Any advice would be great. Thanks.
:( :(

a&m aggie 04'