New tank setup - Please can anyone help

angief

Is this the right place to be asking this question? I have just setup my first salt water aquarium after having tropical tanks for more than 5 years. Everything went well and I am now trying to get the water flow correct so that there is enough oxygen in the water. I have 2 filters, the first is a Fluval 404 which is the bio chamber and the second is a fluval 304 which will be the chemical filter once I switch it on in about a month. What I can't work out is the best place for the outlets to sit. Should I put them above the water level , level to the water or under the surface. I have tried it above the surface but this seems to be very noisy and I have also tried it under the surface which is nice and quiet but I am worried that this will not produce enough oxygen.Does the outlet have to break the surface to create the bubbles which make the oxygen? As you can no doubt guess I have never used external filters before..I am also unsure of what temprature to hold thetank at, I have been told 79, 77 or 78. For the time being i am going to have a fish only tank as I am new to marine fish and i don't want to push my luck until i am used to looking after the fish properly. Please can someone give me some advise. I would really appreciate it.
Thanks a lot.
:D :confused: :D

joe5_15

with to filters you can put one in the middle of each half and that should be enough oxygen but the correct water flow will help alot like your talkin about and for temp just dont let it get to cold or to hot but the temp should be 74 to 80

captained

I have to qualify that I'm not a real expert, but I understand that oxygen exchange only happens at the surface. You can probably get a spray-bar for the return on one of your canisters that wouldn't be as nosiy and do a good job of rippling the surface for exchange. Also, protein skimmers will oxygenate (sp. ?) the water, and I would go that route vs. 2 cannisters.