New to the hobby, new to the site. Few Questions.

mjda

As the title says, I'm new to the hobby as well as new to the site. In the several days I've been doing massive amounts of reading and viewing photos of other people's tanks. I'm just amazed by the pure and natural beauty of these saltwater aquariums. I do plan on starting my own in the future, once I'm certain I have enough information on it to do so. I don't want to just jump in and drown. That said, I would like a little bit of help from some of you who already have tanks established.
Though I'm fairly new I do have a good idea of what I would like to accomplish when I do start to build my own aquarium. Like many, I'm sure, my main interest is with the reef. I would like to create a reef with lots of bright colors. For me, the look of the reef is going to be what I enjoy the most. I would like to add fish as well, mainly for my small children to observe. The only fish that is an absolute must in my household would be clownfish. I haven't given much thought to the exact type yet, but most likely I'll be looking for at least a few false perculas.
Like I said before, I've done a lot of reading in the last several days. However, a lot of what I've read seems to contradict the last thing I read. Now, I understand that most of it is just opinion, and probably circumstantial. However, for the someone new to it all it's a bit overwhelming and often times confusing. What I would like is to just get a few really good books to read. Are there any particular ones any of you would suggest that would help me in my venture, keeping in mind what I would be trying to create? I'm thinking maybe a book just about reefs, then one about the fish, then one that combines both. With the number of books available it's hard to decide which ones to get. I assume you guys that have already been there could better help.