newbie here

seanboy88

ok here I go... I just purchased a 125 gallon tank. Now here is where all of my confusing starts. I had a salt water tank 10 years ago and now thing have changed so much dont know where to start. oo7 articles were great and did give a lil bit of help. But I believe i want a all fish tank with live rock. (I think) still need to get the stand and conopy this week or next. but then I will really need help.
do I use the grates on the bottom of the tank or is that all sand ? as i said earlier wanta fish tank. all of the these skimmers, ro/di thing I dont know what thsoe things are. Do I need ? do I need special lights blah blah blah... so confused..... send help....did I bite off more than i can chew ? It's amazing what you will do for your chile... lol to be honest it for the both of us....SEND HELP IM SWA STUPID. thanks for any help !!!! :help:

buddahjon

ok, one newbie helping another......
Sand is deffinatly better than crushed coral..
If you arent doing corals/anemones/reefishness your lighting doesnt have to be spectacular.
a protien skimmer takes gunk outa your water and makes it alot sexier.
all these deffinitions are deffinatly not an experts ideas or opinions

E

essop3

lets see...
sand you can use 1/2 inch for looks or you can use 4-5 for denitrafication
skimmer takes out waste before it can be broken down. very helpful to any tank.
ro/di filters water. keeps algae and some water levels in check. not required but nice
lights. If you don't want coral then regular strip lights will do.
you can make a nice fish only in a tank that big. good luck!

aquaman