Newbie looking fo a good place to chat.

mmync

Hello everyone, I am new to this great hobby and I am looking to find a good saltwater chat room. Thanks in advance everyone :)

ocellaris_keeper

Welcome and I have learned so much from all the folks (of course from the Sharks - but lots of good information from just about everyone) that whenever I have a question I post it here and do some reading.
What kind of tank do you plan on owning? Reef - Fish Only?

mmync

Right now fish only or fish and live rock. What I need help with the most is 1. do I need a protein skimmer, 2. Do I need live sand, 3. How do I cycle my tank, I hear all sorts of things like put shrimp in and dont put shrimp in. Put damsels or clowns in or dont put any fish in. I am just realy confused. Thanks in advance.

ocellaris_keeper

OK - Fish only - It's OK if you use Live Sand:
1" Home Depot Sand covered by a window nylon screen (not metal) covered by 3" of Live Sand (from this site)
You need a Protien Skimmer(Cleans the water), two Power Heads(continued water movement like waves), a cheap filter (a hang on for a 30 gal fresh water tank(about $30.00) and remove the filter media and add Chemi-pure (for crystal clear water)
The Live and will cycle your tank. You then need to add some fishes to feed the critters in the Live Sand and these should be clown fish (damsels are too annoying when they grow up)
After about two weeks with your clown fish successfully established you will want to get hermit crabs and snails (cleaning crew) about 1 per gallon (this site has good crew packages)
Another month and your ready for other fishes. Go slow, and be patient - you will be with your fish for the rest of their life.
this setup will run until you decide to buy some Live Rock - or it works without LR but LR with critters is neat, give the fish placesw ti hide and helps the bio filter!!
Hope this helps

tangtang