Newbie to SW

emg

Hello, I've been keeping FW tanks for about 3 years now and finally decided to take the plunge into SW. My budget is a bit tight so I have to use what I have as much as possible.
I took my colony of multifasciatus to the LFS so I could use thier tank. It's a 20long with a very fine reef sand and crushed coral substrate (I removed the crushed coral).
I picked up a used aquaclear 300 HOB and siliconed a baffle in it to use as a fuge. I would have prefered a 500, but the price was right on the 300 (20$) and I didn't come across any used 500s.
I picked up some cured LR at the LFS last weekend...and some rubble for the fuge. They didn't have any macro algae available at the time...dang...I'm looking for the spaghetti stuff rather than caulerpa.
So far I've seen one snail and have already nuked the lone aiptasia that I found (I used lemon juice). I believe the snail is a nascissarious..or however you spell that...hehe.... I have also seen a few smaller snails in the rubble in the fuge. Not sure what those are....someone said they may be whelks..which he said would be bad.. :notsure:
I've only measured about .25 on the ammonia so far. Since the rock is cured I don't expect a huge spike of anything..but I did have to scrub some dead sponge and stuff off the rock.
Here are some pics of what I have so far....
The snail in the fuge

The snail in the tank

The fuge

My tank

The tank has cleared up nicely since I took those pics...not much exciting happening in there at the moment. Waiting on the opportunity to pick up a cleanup crew.
Any advice or suggestions are greatly appreciated !! ***)

petjunkie

Looks like you did your research and are off to a good start! Main advise is patience and studying your purchases. Pick up the Pocket Expert guide to Marine Fish, it's a good reference before buying.

saltn00b