Nitrate Removers???

aqua blue

Has anyone out there ever used Kent's Nitrate Sponge or Seachem's De-Nitrate? If so how well did they work? If you have used some other Nitrate remover with success I would like to hear about it.

j21kickster

My best nitrate remover is a water change. Its cheap and effective, more so than those nitrate reducing filters.

aqua blue

Originally posted by j21kickster
My best nitrate remover is a water change. Its cheap and effective, more so than those nitrate reducing filters.

I am currently doing a 5 gallon water change every 2 weeks. My tank has about 40 "net" gallons. Would it be better to do a 10-15 gallon water change once a month instead?
I am new to this hobby and just looking for other options to control and reduce nitrate build up. I will eventually start adding some cured live rock but that will take me a little while at $4 a pound. I think I would need about 50 lbs. for my tank.
Thanks, :)

broomer5

fritzwilly
I've never used any nitrate removing products so I can't comment.
I do believe that if you want to reduce/remove nitrates by performing water changes - you're much better off doing a monthly 20-25% or higher water change compared to small weekly ones, especially with a high to medium fish load in the tank.
But it all depends on "how high" the nitrates are that you're wanting to control in the first place, and how low you want to get them doing just water changes alone.

aqua blue

The Nitrate level in my tank is staying around 10 ppm. It drops closer to 5 ppm after water changes. The longer the tank is up the less effect the small water changes seem to have on dropping the nitrate level.
I am just trying to learn more about other options and methods for controlling nitrates before they rise to a higher level and cause more problems.
Aren't inverts more intolerant of higher nitrate levels than fish?