Oceanic100

oceanic100

Hello forum.
To start, I'm pretty new to saltwater. I currently have an Oceanic 100 gallon tank which is about 10 years old, and has had nothing but freshwater fish in it. Everything from cichlids to kois.
I decided that I'm going to convert my tank to saltwater.
What I have now is:
The Tank
A Hang-Over Pump. (~$50) or so Rated for 150 gallons
Dual 36" Coralife Colormax bulbs
Two Penguin 1100 powerheads.
I looked at the light packaging and it says freshwater, but will these work?
I've also bought the crushed coral (100 lbs)
I also have an under-gravel filter.... Should I lose it or keep it?
All input is greatly appreciated.

oceanic100

Actually both. I'd like to have a pretty good variety of colorful fish. Coral can come later. I'm not too worried about that. Fish are the main concern.
Thanks
--Mike (Oceanic100)

treybomb

read a lot on the forums a good book to check out would be the conscientious marine aquarist by robert fenner
i dont think the lights are gonna cut it
and as far as the undergrave filter.. u will hear some mixed reviews about it i havent had any experience with one of those in a saltwater tank
good luck

hot883

Originally Posted by oceanic100
Hello forum.
To start, I'm pretty new to saltwater. I currently have an Oceanic 100 gallon tank which is about 10 years old, and has had nothing but freshwater fish in it. Everything from cichlids to kois.
I decided that I'm going to convert my tank to saltwater.
What I have now is:
The Tank
A Hang-Over Pump. (~$50) or so Rated for 150 gallons
Dual 36" Coralife Colormax bulbs
Two Penguin 1100 powerheads.
I looked at the light packaging and it says freshwater, but will these work?
I've also bought the crushed coral (100 lbs)
I also have an under-gravel filter.... Should I lose it or keep it?
All input is greatly appreciated.