OK I feel like a tard now...

dedwards

Ok some of you may know that I am new to this hobby and I just set up my tank. I had a 20 gallon tank with 20# of LS and 6# of LR so far...no livestock yet. I only had about an inch of sand and thought that I would go out and get some cheap play sand at Home Depot. Well I ended up at Ace Hardware (pretty much the same) and got some play sand. Well apparently it's not the same as the Tropical Play Sand that eveyone has been recommending. Anyway I moved my LS to the side and was planning on covering the playsand once I dumped it in. Well long story short the play sand has completely clouded my tank. I'm not talking about just a little cloudy I mean it looks like river water. Luckily I had removed my LR and put it in a QT before I decided to do this. So far 1 hour later it looks exactly the same as when I dumped it. Does anyone have any recommendations on what to do next? Should I empty my tank and start over or see how many days it will take to settle?
Sorry I feel like a tard after this lesson.

malounsbury

Usually when you pour sand into the tank like that, it will cloud up. A way to get around that is to wet the sand first before putting it in. It will take awhile for the cloud to go away, but it will eventually go back to clear water. Did you have any livestock in the tank? Also, you moved the LS to the side? Did any of the play sand get on top of it?

dedwards

Does it normally foam on top of the tank? It created a layer of foam as well. When I dumped the LS in the tank it did cloud but no where near like this did. Which got me questioning if this sand will even work. Yes I believe some of the play sand did cover the LS a bit. Not sure what my damage is fully since I can't see more than what is pressed against the glass. Oh and BTW there were no livestock in the tank...otherwise I wouldn't have even attempted it.

j trigger

Yes it will create foam at the top...