ophiura, I saw a huge........

mr_bill

I was at my LFS yesturday afternoon and was admiring all the goodies when I saw a huuuuuuge green arm wave past the front of the tank. It was in the tanks he has up top so I had to get on a stool to see what it was. It was a green brittle star that had to of been 18" or more from tip to tip. Is this a certain breed of brittle star or do most of the common ones people purchase reach this size? It has the same "hairy" like arms as the red/brown brittles but was a jade green color.

ophiura

Most likely it was the common green brittlestar Ophiarachna incrassata, aka "the green death." It is a known predator in the wild, and in some tanks as well. Very commonly sold as it is very hardy. But no, that is not an abnormal size for one. But other species of brittlestars do not get as large.

mr_bill

I am new to the starfish thing, and just recently purchased a red brittle star for my tank. I feed it pieces of shrimp and fish on the same schedule as my anemone. Do you by chance know the average size of the common red brittle?
The "green death" that I saw was way to large for something I'd want in my tank. I was being conservative with the 18" estimate I'd bet he was closer to 22" tip to tip. This one in particular had no fear and was spreading its self far across the tank.

ophiura

I would need to see a picture of the one you have. There are over 2100 species of brittlestars. I have an idea of what you might have, but I would need to see a picture.

mr_bill

Will do, it won't be easy but he comes out a tad during feeding time. As far as a description goes...
redish tendrils on each side of the arms with a black stripe pattern on greyish skin. The main body is redish with a star like pattern lined in a darker color.

ophiura

Nice, that appears to be Ophiocoma wendtii though it has a lot of red in it. But still very nice