Overwhelmed already!!!!

firekat96

WOW, Who knew it was so much involved in a SW tank. I just baught my 5 year old a tank for his birthday, really wanted to make it a SW but after reading all the great info on here it may be to much of an undertaking.
I have a 36gal bow front with full hood and light.
600wt heater
hang on filter like the ones I have seen people posting pics of on here
So many questions but first, how often do you have to do water changes and how much of it when you do.
AND The most important, where do I even begin.
I have read the new hobbyiest section and the 101 tips but still a lil intemidated.
How long can I expect to wait before adding fish 4-6 weeks???
He really wants a Nemo so please help me not disappoint him!!
Thanks for any help.
Shane.

It isnt as bad as you think. Dont lose heart. You can do it and will be happy you did. I am going to let the more experieced folks walk you through it. good luck!

cubnb79

welcome,
im a newbie to but i can say i only change water when test kit shows something is wrong or at least once every two weeks...and i do anywhere from 10% to 20% of the water...i would get enough live sand mixed with some crushed coral but i think you could just do live sand enough to have few inch deep of sand bed...you also need to get 1-1.5lbs of live rock per gallon but could always do more if you wanted but dont think you need it all at one time....as far as adding fish that's im sure everyone going to have diffrent ideas on that...get a cheap api saltwater test kit that's all you need at this time....there's lots of other things im sure but i think ill leave that at this for now...

flower

Hi and welcome to the site....lucky 5 year old.