Phoenix AZ LFS's

wiluven

For you Phoenix people (Scottsdale/Tempe/Chandler/etc) - What LFS do you go to out here? I been to Oceans Floor but not sure of any others. Is this place okay or are there some better shops? I'm new to the hobby so I'd love to give a local store some business as well as pick their brains (and them happy to answer any and all dumb questions)

dkw27

Originally Posted by Wiluven
For you Phoenix people (Scottsdale/Tempe/Chandler/etc) - What LFS do you go to out here? I been to Oceans Floor but not sure of any others. Is this place okay or are there some better shops? I'm new to the hobby so I'd love to give a local store some business as well as pick their brains (and them happy to answer any and all dumb questions)
My favorite is Aquarium Arts in Mesa...The are located on Baseline in between Alma School and Dobson....They have great prices and selection on fish and coral....You can get better prices online for dry goods, but the staff is very helpful and won't steer you in the wrong direction, just to make a sale....I personally didn't care for Ocean Floor, felt they were too pushy... Hope this helps....

wiluven

Awesome, I'll check out Aquatouch :)
I went to About the Reef and I liked the store - seems pretty expensive for the aquarium setups and gear though. Can definately see myself buying some live stuff there though.

outatime97

About The Reef uses hypo and copper on the fish, but with careful acclimation I have had good results. Aquatouch on the other hand, actually quarantines their livestock before they bring them out for sale. Always got quality fish from there. Good Luck and welcome!

dkw27

Good to know - I will check it out. Is it a bigger store or more of a small family owned one?
It's a decent sized store, great selection on aquariums and livestock...I bought my 125 gallon reef setup from them and it's awesome....Their prices were better than The Ocean Floor and better quality for the price....Go check them out!

dkw27