Pods?

svengal

Ok, I'm a foolish newbie. just thought I'd get that out of the way.
My tank is 6 weeks old, has cycled, and I recently purchased a Scooter Bleeny after enjoying the antics of my Lawnmower Blenny, assuming their diet's couldn't be too drastically different. Now all I hear is that the Scooters, like Mandarins (which I was very close to purchasing as well) only eat live brine shrimp and Pods?
What in the world are pods? Can I get a photo? Is "Scooter" going to starve without? I've only witnessed him sifting the sand and leftovers.

trainfever

Funny you should post this because I just recieved my shipment of pods. For lack of a better word, I guess you could say that pods are insects from the ocean. I know there are copepods and anthropods but I don't know one pod from another. I am in the same boat as you. I bought a Scooter blennie and for the first two days, he was all over my live rock looking for pods. I saw him eat maybe two brine shrimp. Someone on here gave me a link to a place where I could order the pods. I just finished the refugium in my sump, so hopefully the pods will breed in there and I will have a suppply of food for the Scooter. I would send you the link but that is not allowed on here. Email me if you want it.
trainfever@comcast.net

baondayko

You'd better purchase some, or your scooter blenny will starve to death. You could get lucky and get them to feed on food, but their food of choice are pods.

saltn00b

hey train, did you build the refuge from scratch? did you order it? what was the overhead? is it lit and is it your sump or is it over the tank? lol
sorry for all the Qs but im thinking about one meself!

trainfever